WorkingMomma Logo

Tip 3: Get your zzzzz’s

Sleep. Oh glorious sleep. Something that can improve all areas of our life, but something we also put last on the priority list. You’ve heard it for years–how it’s imperative to get your eight hours. I am no better, and often skip counting my sheep. That’s why I’m hoping we can help each other on this… I will share some things that have worked for me on this post and I will try your suggestions if you leave a comment!

 

Set a deadline

It’s easy to neglect sleep when your to-do list is never ending. Being a student, working a 9-5, spending time with your family, managing housework and homework–there’s never enough hours in the day. That’s why I suggest scheduling sleep just like any other deadline. My biggest reoccurring theme you will see throughout my posts is it takes around 30 days for a new habit to form. If you can make it 30 days, it will become second nature. Schedule the hours you have in the evening with your bedtime being the deadline. If you know you only have 30 minutes allotted to finish the dishes and switch the laundry, it will make your evening run smoother. Try your hardest for 30 days to stick to your schedule and get the daily stuff done when it needs to be done and get to bed on time.

 

Set a bedtime

Personally, I find that my attitude suffers the worst when I’m sleep deprived. It becomes a slippery slope. If you wake up tired, are irritable and cranky, then your whole day is an uphill battle. So to hold yourself accountable for your bedtime, remind yourself that it will produce a more productive day tomorrow. Remind yourself that your family will appreciate your better spirits. Remind yourself that it will ease your tension and stress. Remind yourself that it’s important.

 

Set a routine

Besides deadlines, I also find that I benefit from a bedtime routine just like my daughter does! It tells our bodies that it’s almost time to get sleepy. Whether it’s a warm bath, reading a chapter of your assigned reading, or just having a cup of tea, do just one thing at the same time each evening that will trigger your mind that it’s time for bed. This will also allow you to not fight your own deadline. I challenge you to do it for 30 days.

What sleep schedule works for you? Let me know below!  <3, M

Leave a Reply

